Eight Sun Devil Greats to be Inducted into ASU Sports Hall of Fame on September 22nd

Shante Carver, now an ASU Hall of Famer (Photo: ASU)

A day after announcing the newest members of the football Ring of Honor, Arizona State has announced it's 2012 class of Hall of Fame and Hall of Distinction inductees.

Six players from six different sports will be represented in this year's class of Hall of Famers, while two coaches will be enshrined into the Hall of Distinction. The eight will be honored at halftime of the September 22nd game against Utah.

The eight honorees are:

Erica Beach, softball (1999-2002): A three-time All-Pac-10 picther and an All-American in 1999. Led ASU to four straight NCAA tournament appearances and two WCWS.

Steve Blackford, wrestling (1998-2001): A three-time All-American and Pac-10 champion in 2000 and 2001. His 138 are second most in ASU history.

Marcus Brunson, track & field (1997-2001): An extremely decorated sprinter, Brunson set school records in the outdoor 100m and indoor 55m and 60m. He earned All-America status in 60m, 100m, 200m, 4x100mand 4x400m relays, and was the Pac-10 Champion in the 100m, 200m and 4x100m relay.

Shante Carver, football (1990-1993): A two-time All-American, Carver registered 10 or more sacks in every season, setting the school record with 41 (since surpassed).

Larry Kentera, assistant football coach (1966-1978): A key assistant under Frank Kush, Kentera was his defensive coordinator from 1974-1978. Players he coached included legends like Bob Bruenig, Curly Culp, Michael Haynes, Al Harris and Ron Pritchard.

Amanda Levens, basketball (2000-2002): After transferring from Old Dominion, Levens earned first-team All-Pac-10 honors in both of her seasons in Tempe, and was an honorable mention All-American in 2002.

Jeff Quinney, golf (1997-2001): A three-time first-team All-Pac-10 golfer, and two-time second team All-American. Winner of the 2000 U.S. Amateur Championship.

Darryl Rogers, head football coach (1980-1984): Rogers put together a 37-18-1 record in his five seasons in Tempe, and achieved one of the program's biggest wins with the victory over Oklahoma in the 1982 Fiesta Bowl.

Photo Gallery of the Inductees

Follow me on Twitter @BDenny29 and like House of Sparky on Facebook

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join House of Sparky

You must be a member of House of Sparky to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at House of Sparky. You should read them.

Join House of Sparky

You must be a member of House of Sparky to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at House of Sparky. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.