clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Sun Devil Football Sweet 16 Tournament Starts Tuesday

The NCAA Tournament has reached the Sweet 16 phase after a weekend of fantastic, bracket busting action. About the only thing that holds any certainty in March Madness is that the Sun Devils will not be a part of the fun.

Factor in that the football team's spring practices are on a one-week pause due to the school's spring break, and the potential for some serious ASU withdrawals is dangerously high.

House of Sparky to the rescue!

In melding the two worlds, we bring you the Sun Devil Sweet 16 Tournament. We've selected the 16 best players to don the maroon and gold, broken them up into four regions, assigned seeds and will let you vote on who shall advance to the next round. One each day starting Tuesday March 20th through Friday the 23rd, we'll give you two matches to vote upon during the day, one opening at 9am PST and the other at 7pm.

Here is how the tournament breaks out:

Sparky Region

1) Danny White vs. 4) Derek Hagan

2) John Jefferson vs. 3) Ron Pritchard

Kush Region

1) Woody Green vs. 4) Zach Miller

2) Pat Tillman vs. 3) Luis Zendejas

Maroon Region

1) Randall McDaniel vs. 4) J.D. Hill

2) Jake Plummer vs. 3) Terrell Suggs

Gold Region

1) Mike Haynes vs 4) J.R. Redmond

2) Adam Archuleta vs. 3) Juan Roque

There are some intriguing battles out there. Remember, the results are entirely up to you. Check beck soon and spread the word, as we find out who is the greatest Sun Devil of all-time.


Follow me on Twitter @BDenny29 for the latest on ASU football