clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Arizona State Baseball Headed To Fullerton Regional

The Arizona State Sun Devils were selected to play in the Cal State Fullerton regional as the No. 2 seed. Arizona State opens up against New Mexico on Friday.

The Arizona State baseball team will head west for the 2013 postseason as the Sun Devils were selected to play in the Fullerton regional hosted by Cal State Fullerton.

The Sun Devils will be the number two seed in the Fullerton and play New Mexico in their opening game of the double-elimination regional. Cal State Fullerton and Columbia round out field in Fullerton.

The New Mexico Lobos went 37-20 this season, winning the Mountain West Conference regular season title and finishing second in the conference tournament. The Lobos feature three starters who hit over .380 including D.J. Peterson (.411 18 HR 70 RBI) and Mitc Garver (.387 5 HR 65 RBI).

The Lobos are led on the mound by starters Sam Wolff (7-3 3.05 ERA 85.2 IP) and Josh Walker (11-0 3.91 ERA 71.1 IP). They have a team ERA of 5.06. Baseball America's Aaron Fitt believes the Sun Devils have their road cut out for them in regional play.

The Sun Devils have history with Cal State Fullerton, as ASU was knocked out of the postseason by Fullerton in 2001, 2003 and 2004. In 2005, Arizona State advanced to the College World Series with a super regional victory against Fullerton.

History is not on the Sun Devils side, as Arizona State has never advanced to the College World Series by winning both a road regional and a road super regional (as ASU will likely have to do this year). Arizona State's last regional victory on the road came in 1998.

The Pac-12 received four bids to the 2013 NCAA Tournament. Oregon State (No. 3) and Oregon (No. 8) are both national seeds and will host super regionals if they advance past regionals. UCLA was selected as a host team and will play the winner of the Fullerton regional in super regional play if they advance.

Both Stanford and defending national champion Arizona were left out of the field of 64 by the selection committee.