clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Carl Bradford, Chris Young Named To Butkus Award Watch List

Who cares if Carl Bradford and Chris Young aren't your prototypical linebackers? They still have a chance to be named the best in the nation.


Arizona State LB Carl Bradford has been named to his fair share of defensive award watch lists this offseason but Monday he was joined by a fellow Devil of many positions.

Bradford and Chris Young both made the Butkus Award watch list Monday. The award is given out to the best linebacker in college football on a yearly basis. The most recent recipient of the Butkus Award was Notre Dame LB Manti Te'o and the last five players to win the award have gone on to be drafted in the first round of the NFL Draft.

Both Bradford and Young burst onto the scene last season, thriving in Todd Graham's attacking defensive schemes. Bradford finished 2012 with 81 total tackles, 20.5 tackles for loss, 11.5 sacks and three forced fumbles from the Devilbacker position while Young compiled 82 tackles, 12 tackles for loss, two sacks and five passes defended from the hybrid SPUR position.

As for next season, Bradford's position will likely remain intact but Young's role is still up in the air. Young has been listed as the starter for both the SPUR linebacker and the WILL linebacker positions (the spot vacated by Brandon Magee). Regardless, it seems both gentlemen could expect their tackle totals to rise with Magee's 100-tackle campaign out of the picture and Will Sutton still eating lots of space in front of them.

More ASU watch list news can be found below:

Alden Darby - Thorpe Award

D.J. Foster - Hornung Award

Will Sutton, Carl Bradford - Nagurski Award

Will Sutton, Carl Bradford - Bednarik Award

Will Sutton, Taylor Kelly, Marion Grice - Maxwell Award

Kody Koebensky - Rimington Award