clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Three Sun Devils Take Home Pac-12 Awards

Jahii Carson, Jordan Bachynski, and Jermaine Marshall were all honored by the Pac-12 on Monday.

Scott Olmos-USA TODAY Sports

Three Arizona State men's basketball players received recognition for their play this season by getting all Pac-12 honors on Monday.

Center Jordan Bachynski was named the Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year, making him the first Sun Devil to ever win the award. Point guard Jahii Carson was named to the All-Pac-12 First Team, and shooting guard Jermaine Marshall was an Honorable Mention. 

Bachynski finished the regular season as the most decorated shot blocker in Pac-12 history with 309 career blocked shots. Even more impressive is the fact that Bachynski had three game-saving blocks, including a last second swat that preserved Arizona State's win over rival Arizona. Bachynski's 4.23 blocks per game led the nation during the regular season.

For Carson, this is his second straight season raking in Pac-12 awards, as he was last year's co-Pac-12 Freshman of the Year. Carson averaged 18.9 points (second in conference) and 4.5 assists per game in his sophomore season. He recorded 20 or more points in eight conference games. His best conference game came against California, when he finished with 29 points, seven assists and four steals. 

In his first Pac-12 season, Marshall certainly made his mark. Marshall, a transfer from Penn State, had already earned honorable-mention All-Big Ten honors. The 2013-2014 campaign was Marshall's best collegiate season as he averaged a career-high 15.4 points, and shot 41 percent from 3-point land. Marshall ranked second in the Pac-12 with 78 3-pointers. Marshall's biggest game was against Arizona, when he finished with a career-high 29 points, and gave the Sun Devils the go-ahead bucket. 

The Sun Devils will look for these three players to step up as they travel to Las Vegas for the Pac-12 tournament. As the No. 3 seed, Arizona State will have a first-round bye and will play the winner of the Stanford vs. Washington State game on Thursday.

For a complete list of All-Pac-12 awards, click here.