clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

ASU Moment of the Year seed No. 8 : Sun Devils take Territorial Cup Series 11.5-8.5

The Sun Devils took the Series trophy for the first time in 2013-14.

Matt Kartozian-USA TODAY Sports

Next week House of Sparky will begin our "ASU Moment of the Year" tournament, with the 16 best moments from the athletic season. This week we will randomly introduce all 16 moments, then reveal our seedings and match-ups next week, where you, the reader, will vote on what was the ASU athletics Moment of the Year

The Territorial Cup Series began four years ago, and up until this season, it had been the exclusive property of the University of Arizona.

The Series encompasses all 20 NCAA Division I sports in which both sports compete. A point is granted to the school that wins the most head-to-head meetings in that sport, or in the case of sports like swim or track, whichever school finishes better at the Pac-12 championships. In the case of a sport like basketball, where the schools have two meetings, a half-point is awarded for each victory.

Arizona State came away 11.5 points this season, nabbing a point in football, men's cross country, gymnastics, men's golf, baseball, softball, men's indoor track, women's indoor track, women's outdoor track and sand volleyball. The Sun Devils also scored a half-point in volleyball, men's basketball and women's basketball.

While football's Territorial Cup is the trophy that holds the history and prestige, the Series trophy is one both schools badly want. Arizona took the trophy in every year of existence. Arizona State clinched its first Series victory this year when golf finished three spots better than the Wildcats at the men's golf Pac-12 tournament on April 27.