clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

ASU Moment of the Year quarterfinals: No. 1 Football wins Pac-12 South vs. No. 8 Sun Devils win Territorial Cup Series

We've made it to the quarterfinals of our Moment of the Year tournament . Which season-long goal was the better achievement?

Jayne Kamin-Oncea-USA TODAY Spor

On Monday, we had Territorial Cup series victory (53 percent) take down the Cory Hahn first pitch (47 percent).

As we move on to the quarterfinals today, here is an updated bracket:


Seed No. 1: Football wins the Pac-12 South

Throughout the 21st century, Arizona State football has gained a reputation of not being able to take that next step into elite status. Didn't Arizona State have all the makings of a football powerhouse? Large school, great location, good recruiting territories, improving facilities, what was missing?

When Todd Graham was hired in December of 2012, he immediately began talking championships. In his second season, he delivered a Pac-12 South championship when the Sun Devils went on the road and defeated the UCLA Bruins.

It was a game contested on Nov. 23, 2013 between the two preseason favorites in the South. It was a high scoring affair from the start, with the teams combining for 24 points after the first quarter.

In the second, the Sun Devils began to distance themselves from the Bruins thanks to a Carl Bradford pick-six and a Jaelen Strong touchdown reception with five seconds left in the half. Arizona State led 35-13 at halftime.

However, UCLA crept back in the game in the third quarter, outscoring the Sun Devils 14-3 in the third frame to pull within 11 with 15 minutes to play. With just over 11 minutes left in the game, Brett Hundley found Shaquelle Evans on a 27-yard touchdown pass to pull UCLA within five (two-point conversion failed).

In the final minutes of the game, the key plays went the Sun Devils way and thanks to a missed field goal by the Bruins and a crucial sack by Chris Young in the redzone, the Sun Devils came out on top by a score of 38-33. The Sun Devils had won the Pac-12 South and would be playing for a trip to the Rose Bowl.

No. 8 seed Territorial Cup Series victory

The Territorial Cup Series began four years ago, and up until this season, it had been the exclusive property of the University of Arizona.

The Series encompasses all 20 NCAA Division I sports in which both sports compete. A point is granted to the school that wins the most head-to-head meetings in that sport, or in the case of sports like swim or track, whichever school finishes better at the Pac-12 championships. In the case of a sport like basketball, where the schools have two meetings, a half-point is awarded for each victory.

Arizona State came away 11.5 points this season, nabbing a point in football, men's cross country, gymnastics, men's golf, baseball, softball, men's indoor track, women's indoor track, women's outdoor track and sand volleyball. The Sun Devils also scored a half-point in volleyball, men's basketball and women's basketball.

While football's Territorial Cup is the trophy that holds the history and prestige, the Series trophy is one both schools badly want. Arizona took the trophy in every year of existence. Arizona State clinched its first Series victory this year when golf finished three spots better than the Wildcats at the men's golf Pac-12 tournament on April 27.

Football winning the Pac-12 South (86%) takes it over winning the Territorial Cup series (14%).