clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

ASU Basketball: Full 2014-15 schedule announced

New, 5 comments
Benny Sieu-USA TODAY Sports

Arizona State's 2014-15 men's basketball schedule has been released. The 31 game slate starts with a visit from Chicago State on Friday, Nov. 14 at 8:00 PM.

30 of the games already have television arrangements, with only an early December trip to Texas A&M still to be announced.

The Sun Devils will host nine of their 13 nonconference games at Wells Fargo Arena, concluding with a Sunday afternoon meeting against Harvard on Dec. 28 in Tempe.

The nonconference road games besides the Thanksgiving week trip to Kansas City for the CBE Classic are the aforementioned visit to College Station and a trip to Milwaukee to face Marquette. Arizona State topped the Golden Eagles, 78-77, last year at Wells Fargo Arena.

The schedule creators did a good job of working around the football schedule, making sure no games conflict directly with an Arizona State regular season or possible bowl game.

This season's hardwood version of the Duel in the Desert games will both be played on weekends. The Sun Devils will travel to Tucson on Sunday, January 4 and host Arizona on February 7, a Saturday.

After playing what might be the top team in the nation to start Pac-12 play, the team will get a brief respite as they travel to Oregon State and Oregon the next week. After that, Arizona State will host Utah and Colorado for its first home games of league play. The Sun Devils have swept the Utes and Buffaloes in Tempe each of the past two seasons.

Then it's off to the Bay Area for two very late-night games. The game at California will tipoff at 8:00 PM in Berkeley, and two days later the Stanford game will start at 9:00 PM. Arizona State swept Cal for the first time since 1999-2000 last season.

The Sun Devils will be on ESPN2 once next season, the lone occurrence being a Wednesday night meeting with UCLA in Tempe. Three games will be on ESPNU, with the option of a fourth in the second game of the CBE Classic.

The sequel to last year's classic against Arizona at Wells Fargo Arena will be televised by FOX, while five others will be on Fox Sports 1. The Pac-12 Network owns the other nine games. Arizona State has won two of the last three against the Wildcats in Tempe.

While we've known the opponents for awhile now, it is nice to sit back and examine the slate with all of the networks and start times filled in.

The nonconference schedule is interesting enough. Loyola Marymount, UNLV, and Pepperdine are teams from out west that give the list of opponents a bit more name-recognition than some low-majors from the east coast. The Runnin Rebels come to Tempe after the Sun Devils went to Las Vegas last season in a game that saw Jahii Carson drop 40 points. Newcomer Savon Goodman will also have a chance to play against his former team. Then the games against Maryland, Texas A&M, Marquette, and Harvard will provide Herb Sendek's team with plenty of tests in the out of conference slate

Arizona State also got a bit of a break in league play, only having to play UCLA once. The other pair of schools that the Sun Devils miss a second game against will be Washington and Washington State.

Full Schedule

Friday, Nov. 14 vs. Chicago State, 8 p.m. (Pac-12 Networks/CBE Classic)
Monday, Nov. 17, vs. Bethune-Cookman, 7 p.m. (Pac-12 Networks/CBE Classic)
Thursday, Nov. 20 vs. Loyola Marymount, 7 p.m. (Pac-12 Networks)
Monday, Nov. 24 vs. Maryland at CBE Classic in Kansas City, 6 p.m. CT/5 p.m. MT (ESPNU)
Tuesday, Nov. 25 vs. Iowa State/Maryland at CBE Classic in Kansas City (TV TBD)
Saturday, Nov. 29 vs. Colgate, 5 or 8 p.m. (Pac-12 Networks)
Wednesday, Dec. 3, vs. UNLV, 6 p.m. (Pac-12 Networks)
Saturday, Dec. 6 at Texas A&M
Saturday, Dec. 13 vs. Pepperdine, Noon (Pac-12 Networks)
Tuesday, Dec. 16 at Marquette, 8 p.m. CT/7 p.m. MT (Fox Sports 1)
Saturday, Dec. 20 vs. Lehigh, 7 p.m. (Pac-12 Networks)
Tuesday, Dec. 23 vs. Detroit, 1 p.m. (Pac-12 Networks)
Sunday, Dec. 28 vs. Harvard, Noon (Pac-12 Networks)
Sunday, Jan. 4 at Arizona, 5 p.m. (Fox Sports 1)
Thursday, Jan. 8 at Oregon State, 6 p.m. PT/7 p.m. MT (Fox Sports 1)
Saturday, Jan. 10 at Oregon, 2 p.m. PT/3 p.m. MT (Pac-12 Networks)
Thursday, Jan. 15 vs. Utah, 8 p.m. (Fox Sports 1)
Saturday, Jan. 17 vs. Colorado, 2:30 p.m. MT (Pac-12 Networks)
Thursday, Jan. 22 at California, 8 p.m. PT/9 p.m. MT (Pac-12 Networks)
Saturday, Jan. 24 at Stanford, 9 p.m. PT/10 p.m. MT (ESPNU)
Wednesday, Jan. 28 vs. Oregon State, 6 p.m. MT (Pac-12 Networks)
Friday, Jan. 30 vs. Oregon, 6 p.m. (Pac-12 Networks)
Sat, Feb. 7 vs. Arizona, 2:30 p.m (FOX)
Friday, Feb. 13 at Washington State, 8 p.m. PT/9 p.m. MT (Pac-12 Networks)
Sunday, Feb. 15 at Washington, 2:30 p.m. PT/3:30 p.m. MT (Pac-12 Networks)
Wednesday, Feb. 18 vs. UCLA, 7 p.m. (ESPN2)
Sunday, Feb. 22 vs. USC, 6:30 p.m. (Pac-12 Networks)
Thursday, Feb. 26 at Utah, 8:30 p.m. (Fox Sports 1)
Sunday, Mar. 1 at Colorado, 6:30 p.m. MT (ESPNU)
Thursday, Mar. 5 vs. Stanford, 9 p.m. (FOX Sports 1)
Saturday, Mar. 7 vs. California, 12:30 p.m. (Pac-12 Networks)