clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

ASU Football: Recent history with UCLA has series turning into a budding rivalry

UCLA leads the series history 18-11-1.

Jim Mora Has A 1-1 Record Against Arizona State Since Arriving At UCLA
Jim Mora Has A 1-1 Record Against Arizona State Since Arriving At UCLA
Ronald Martinez

Arizona State hosts UCLA in Tempe this week in a game that has quickly become one of the most important matchups each year throughout the Pac-12. While no one will mistake the fact that Arizona is the team's biggest rival, the last two games between these two teams have had much more significance and drama than the Territorial Cup games. That theme appears as it will continue this year, as this will be the first time since 2007 that two ranked teams will meet in a regular season game at Sun Devil Stadium.

The Sun Devils took last year's game at the Rose Bowl. With the visitors holding a slim lead in the fourth quarter, the Bruins drove twice into Sun Devil territory looking to take the lead and a south division title. Their defense never broke though, and they escaped Los Angeles with a 38-33 win.

The last meeting in Tempe came in 2012. Arizona State was without star defensive tackle Will Sutton and trailed by nine heading into the final quarter. A first year quarterback named Taylor Kelly would lead his team all the way back, however, and his touchdown pass with 1:33 left put the maroon and gold up 43-42. Unfortunately, there was still too much time left. A young Brett Hundley marched down the field and set up Ka'imi Fairbairn for a 33 yard field goal as time expired. The try split the uprights and broke the hearts of Sun Devil nation.

Thanks to an early release of the 2015 Pac-12 football schedules, we already know that these two teams will meet on October 3 at the Rose Bowl next season. The game will surely have a huge impact on the race for a south division title. The only question is whether or not Arizona State will come in on a two game winning streak.

The longest win streak for either team is held by UCLA. They won four straight under Terry Donahue from 1976 to 1981. The Sun Devils longest streak is three games from 1995-99 under Bruce Snyder. The largest margin of victory for the maroon and gold came in the form of a blowout 2008 win over the Bruins 34-9.