clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

ASU Hockey: Sun Devils release Division I roster with a few surprises

The roster came out with a surprising return and a surprising transfer.

Courtney Pedroza/House of Sparky

Arizona State hockey released its Division I roster Wednesday, which includes 15 new recruits and 13 returners.

All the recruits who committed have officially been placed on the roster with the exception of goalie David Jacobson. Because he committed so late (April 1) he was not cleared in time. He will still join the roster.

One surprise was the transfer of defenseman Brock Krygier. Coming from Michigan State as a graduate, he will be eligible immediately and come in with two years of eligibility.

The players returning are forwards Sean Murphy, Ryan Belonger, Patrick Yudez, David Norris, Liam Norris, Eric Rivard, Ryan Ostertag and Michael Cummings. The defenseman are Drew Newmeyer, Ed McGovern, Jordan Young and Connor Schmidt. Robert Levin is the sole returning goalie.

The roster also confirmed an earlier report that Liam Norris would be coming back for a fifth season at ASU.

Jake Montgomery and David Norris are on the roster but because of NCAA transfer rules, will be ineligible next season. They will redshirt and be eligible again in 2016-17.

Lucas Felbel, who played all three games in this year's national tournament, will not be returning. Neither will captain Brett Blomgren. Gianni Mangone, Alex Temby, Chris Burkemper and Connor Mailey are among players with significant playing time who will not be returning.