clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

ASU Football: Mike Bercovici, D.J. Foster and Jordan Simone named 2015 captains

The Sun Devils named eight total captains Tuesday morning, including two special teams captains.

Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

The Arizona State football team announced its captains for the 2015 season Tuesday morning, and none of the three should come as a surprise. Graduate quarterback Mike Bercovici, senior wide receiver D.J. Foster and senior safety Jordan Simone will be the captains for the 2015 season.

The three players were selected by a team vote, which was taken after the conclusion of spring practice. The team also selected co-captains for the 2015 season: Senior cornerback Lloyd Carrington, senior center Nick Kelly and junior linebacker Laiu Moeakiola.

Todd Graham also had the team select two special team captains for the upcoming season, with kicker Zane Gonzales and defensive back DeAndre Scott receiving the honor. In total, ASU will have eight captains for 2015, plus any specific game captains Graham wishes to appoint during the season.

The announcement of team captains comes much earlier than it did for the 2014 season, when the captains were not announced until the fall.

The three captains selected all have had different journeys in their Sun Devil career. Foster made an immediate impact as a freshman in 2012 and has played multiple positions during his tenure in Tempe.

Simone started his college career at Washington State and this time last year wasn't on anybody's radar. Simone had a breakout 2014 season and is now one of the most popular Sun Devils on and off the field. Bercovici sat behind Taylor Kelly for three seasons and now in his fifth season at ASU, finally gets a chance to lead the offense.

All three players represent ASU well both on and off the field. Coincidence or not, the three captains are also roommates.