clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

ASU Best Teams: No. 1 2011 Softball vs. No. 9 1971-72 Football

National champ vs Fiesta Bowl Champs

Photo from Sun Devil Athletics

We continue our best teams from ASU ever this summer with our next matchup. No. 12 2005 Baseball beat No. 4 1993 Women’s Golf. Now it’s No. 1 2011 Softball vs. No. 9 1971-72 Football.

Here’s the current bracket:

No. 1 2011 Softball

Record: 60-6, National Champions

Head coach: Clint Myers

Notable players: Dallas Escobedo, Katelyn Boyd, Annie Lockwood, Mandy Urfer

The rundown: The second softball national championship in Sun Devil history. Led by freshman Dallas Escobedo in the circle and All-American shortstop Katelyn Boyd at the plate, the Devils brought home a title to Tempe in dominant fashion. ASU was a perfect 10-0 in the postseason and Escobedo was an absurd 35-3 with a 1.51 ERA.

Boyd hit .429 and Annie Lockwood belted 19 home runs to showcase the bats. The Devils upended Florida to earn their second championship in four years.

No. 9 1971-72 Football

Record: 11-1 (7-0 WAC)

Head Coach: Frank Kush (14th year)

Notable Players: Woody Green, Danny White, Windlan Hall, Brent McClanahan

The Rundown: An all-time squad in program history. The offense, led by sophomore running back Woody Green and sophomore quarterback Danny White, scored 462 points while the defense allowed just 206 points. The devils beat Arizona 31-0 in Tempe and beat Florida State in the Fiesta Bowl. Conference champions, the Devils were ranked as high as #6 in the coaches poll and #8 in the AP poll.

Vote on Twitter to help decide the best ASU team ever: