clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Sun Devil lacrosse advances to semifinals of Pac-12 Tournament, McCormack named conference’s COY

Lot of good things

Brady Vernon/House of Sparky

Sun Devils best Cal in Pac-12 Tournament

Arizona State opened the Pac-12 Women’s Lacrosse Tournament with a victory. The Sun Devils defeated Cal 17-9 after a dominant end to the first half.

ASU separated themselves with a little over 18 minutes left in the first half. Katie Brodsky’s goal at the 18:18 mark started a 6-1 run to close out the first half and put Arizona State up 9-3 at the break.

The gap never started to close in the second half as Berkeley Bonneau continued to make tough stops and get help from her defense. Bonneau saved 14 shots in the win.

Offensively, Carley Adams scored four goals to lead the team. Emily Glagolev added three and three other Sun Devils, including Brodsky, found the back of the net twice.

Arizona State now moves on to face top-seeded Stanford. The Cardinal have beaten the Sun Devils twice this season, but the last matchup on April 16 was decided by one goal in a 22-21 finish.

McCormack wins Pac-12 Coach of the Year award

Arizona State lacrosse head coach Tim McCormack left his mark in his first full season at the helm of the program.

The Pac-12 announced on Wednesday that McCormack was awarded the conference’s Coach of the Year award. McCormack led the Sun Devils to a 9-5, 5-4 Pac-12 record, the highest win totals in the four years of the program.

ASU earned 10 Player of the Week honors, the most in the conference. Before McCormack, the program only had two ever.

That also led to Carley Adams, Bella Gaspar, Emily Glagolev being selected to the All-Pac-12 First Team and Berkeley Bonneau, Maura Cissel, Kerri Clayton to the Second Team.