clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

ASU Football: 11 players earn Preseason All-Conference accolades, picked to finish third in the South

Preseason accolades

Arizona State v California Photo by Thearon W. Henderson/Getty Images

Arizona State football had 11 players named to the Preseason All-Conference teams on Tuesday. The Sun Devils led the Pac-12 with 10 first and second team nominations.

Headlining the first team was offensive lineman Dohnovan West, defensive lineman Jermayne Lole, cornerback Chase Lucas and punter Michael Turk.

Quarterback Jayden Daniels was joined by running back Rachaad White, offensive lineman Kellen Diesch, defensive lineman Tyler Johnson and defensive back Evan Fields.

D.J. Taylor also was named to the conference’s second team as both a return specialist and all-purpose player.

DeaMonte Trayanum got an honorable mention at the running back position.

Multiple players from the all-conference selections also earned national watch list accolades:

Daniels (Maxwell - Player of the Year, Davey O’Brien - Quarterback)

White and Trayanum (Doak Walker - Running Back

West (Rimington - Center, Outland - Lineman)

Lucas (Bednarik- Defensive Player of the Year, Thorpe - Defensive Back)

Lole (Outland - Lineman)

Johnson (Nagurski - Defensive Player of the Year)

Merlin Robertson (Butkus - Linebacker)

Additionally as a team, Arizona State was picked to finished third in the Pac-12 South behind USC and Utah. The Sun Devils’ 170 points was the fifth-most in the conference. Oregon had the most first-place votes (27) for the entire conference.